Fakultät für Psychologie und Pädagogik

Links und Funktionen



About our OSC

Large-scale replication projects of the last years (e.g. ManyLabs, Reproducibility Project Psychology) showed that the "replication crisis" in psychology is more than just hot air: According to recent estimates, more than 50% of current psychological research is not replicable.

This spurred a lot of developments, such as the TOP guidelines, which define transparency and openness criteria for scientific publications, and which thousands of journals already have signed.

The field is thinking about how we can ensure that we generate more actual knowledge and less false positives, or in the words of John Ioannidis: How to make more published research true.

In order to fathom potential consequences for our own department, in July 2015 our department's steering committee unanimously decided to establish an Open Science Committee (OSC).

The Open Science Committee's mission and goals include:

  • Monitor the international developments in the area of open science and communicate them to the department.
  • Organize workshops that teach skills for open science (e.g., How do I write a good pre-registration? What practical steps are necessary for Open Data? How can I apply for the Open Science badges?, Advanced power analysis, What are Registered Reports?).
  • Develop concrete suggestions concerning tenure-track criteria, hiring criteria, PhD supervision and grading, etc.
  • Channel the discussion concerning standards of research quality and transparency. Even if we share the same scientific values, the implementations might differ between research areas. We hope that the research units at the department discuss our suggestions and provide feedback and further ideas. A medium-term goal of the committee is to explore in what way a department-wide consensus can be established concerning certain points of open science.

The committee was initiated by Felix Schönbrodt, Markus Maier, Moritz Heene, and Michael Zehetleitner, and currently consists of 40 members representing every research unit of our department, and spanning all status groups from PhD students to full professors.